The reference attorney can review your paperwork before you go to court and walk you through the steps of requesting an occupational driver's license.

Click here for the Occupational Driver's License Steps

You can meet with the ODL reference attorney if your case will be filed in Travis County courts.

No. The ODL reference attorneys only accept walk-ins.

Nothing. The meeting with the ODL reference attorney is free.

Walk-ins start at 9:00 a.m.

Monday — Friday

The Travis County Law Library & Self-Help Center
314 West 11th Street, Room 140
Austin, Texas 78741

  • A copy of the court order suspending your driver's license or the notice of suspension from DPS.
  • Certified Abstract (Type AR) of driving record:

    Be careful: To get your certified Abstract online, you MUST verify that ALL of your DPS records (DL, ID or unlicensed record) have been CONSOLIDATED or you risk purchasing incomplete information and may need to purchase additional records.

    If you have determined that your records are consolidated, you may purchase your driving record online, with a credit card and print it out. The online cost is $22. You will need to enter your driver’s license number and license audit number from your most recent DL (or ID, if your records are CONSOLIDATED) and the last four digits of your social security number at: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

    To get a Certified Abstract by mail, print the DR-1 form called “Request for a Certified Abstract of a Driver Record” from www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

    Mail the completed form and a $20 check or money order to Texas DPS. This form does not require the audit number or your social security number.

  • SR-22 proof of insurance from your insurance company
  • Proof that you need to drive to go to work, school, or perform essential household duties, etc.

    Examples of proof: your school schedule or registration, a current pay stub, a letter from your job, or an affidavit (sworn statement) explaining your need to drive.

No. For legal representation or legal advice you should hire an attorney.

The Lawyer Referral Service (512) 472-8303 can help you find a private attorney. If you are low income, you may qualify for free help from Texas RioGrande Legal Aid (512) 374-2700. Regardless of income, you may obtain free legal advice at the Evening Legal Clinics.