NOTICE: THIS DOCUMENT CONTAINS SENSITIVE DATA.

In Re: Cause No:

In the District Court of

Petitioner (Print first, middle, and last names) Travis County, Texas

Petition to Change the
Sex/Gender ldentifier of an Adult

(Print your answers.)

1. Discovery Level

The discovery level in this case, if needed, is Level 1.

2. Petitioner

(A) My current legal name is:

First Middle Last

(B) 1 ask the Court to change my gender and my sex identifier

[ 1from Male to Female OR [ | from Female to Male.

(C) The reason | want to make that change is:

[] My birth certificate lists me as[ [ Male [ | Female. My true sex and gender, as
reflected in my physician’s/therapist’s letters attached, is [ [ Male [ | Female.

In all aspects of my life, | present as [ IMale [ | Female. My birth certificate and
other identifying information should conform with my true gender/sex. If this
conformation does not occur, | will suffer significant damage including problems with
schools, voting, problems with travel, problems obtaining insurance, employment,
housing, credit, and problems with producing correct and consistent identification.

And/Or (if other reason, print below)

3. Personal Information

My personal information is as follows:

(A) Home address is:

street address city county state Zip code

(B) Social Security Number: Or []1don't have a Social Security Number.
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(C) Date of birth:

month day year

(D) All drivers’ license numbers issued to me during the last 10 years:

Driver’'s License Number State that Issued License

Or [] I have not had a driver’s license during the last 10 years.

(E) Place of birth:

city county state country
(F) Gender/Sex: (Check one as shown on current birth certificate.) [ | Male [ |Female

(G) Race:

(Print race as shown on birth certificate.)

4. Criminal History

(A) Have you ever been charged with a Class A or B misdemeanor or afelony? [ [Yes [ |No
If yes -- Write your FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigations) or SID (State Identification) number:

FBI # SID #

e [Ljstall Class A or B misdemeanors and felonies with which you have been charged, whether or not you were
convicted. If you need more space, attach an additional page. This information is required by Texas Family Code
45.102(b)(c).

e [fyou have not been charged with a Class A or B misdemeanor or felony, write “none” in the offense blank

below.
Offense 1
] District Court [_]JCounty Court
County Court number: Case number:
Offense 2
] District Court [_]JCounty Court
County Court number: Case number:
Offense 3
] District Court [_]JCounty Court
County Court number: Case number:
Offense 4
] District Court [_]JCounty Court
County Court number: Case number:
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(B) Have you ever been convicted of a felony that has not been pardoned? [] Yes []No

If yes -- The court may grant your request if at least 2 years have passed since you received a certificate
of discharge from the Texas Department of Criminal Justice or completed court ordered
community supervision or juvenile probation. You must attach proof from the Texas Department of
Criminal Justice.

List all of your felony convictions here. If you need more space, attach an additional page.

Felony Conviction 1

[] District Court [_JCounty Court

County Court number: Case number:

Felony Conviction 2

[] District Court [_]County Court

County Court number: Case number:

Felony Conviction 3

] District Court [_]JCounty Court

County Court number: Case number:

Felony Conviction 4
] District Court [_]JCounty Court

County Court number: Case number:

(C) Are you required to register as a sex offender?
[T No, 1 am NOT required to register as a sex offender.

[T Yes, | AM required to register as a sex offender. If yes — attach a copy of your notification to local law
enforcement. See below.

5. Request for Judgment

| ask that my gender and my sex identifier be changed: (select one)

[ Tfrom Male to Female [ | from Female to Male.

| ask the Court to enter an order for schools, universities, agencies, and departments within this court’s
jurisdiction to correct and amend the gender and sex identifiers in all licenses, databases, certificates, or

other official documents under the agencies control and issuance, whether electronic or paper. This
includes, but is not limited to, the Texas Department of Public Safety.

If you were born in Texas, complete this section.]

| ask that upon application to the Vital Statistics Unit my Texas birth certificate shall be amended
pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code 192.011 to reflect my sex/gender as: [ | Male [ [ Female.
[If you were born outside of Texas, complete this section.]

| ask that the Court find that | was born in the state of .
| ask that the Court authorize the appropriate officials in charge of correcting birth records in the state of
to correct the birth record.
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6. Sensitive Information

This filing contains sensitive information. | ask that the Clerk maintain this file as a restricted file.

7. Declaration Made Under Penalty of Perjury
(Unsworn declaration made pursuant to Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, Section 132.001.)

My current legal name is:

First Middle Last

My date of birth is: / /
Month Day Year

My address is:

Street Address

City State Zip Code Country

| declare under penalty of perjury that all information in this Petition to Change the
Gender and Sex Identifier of an Adult is true and correct. | understand | could be
prosecuted for lying on this form.

Formally signed in County, , 0N / / by:
County State Month Day Year
%
Petitioner’s Signature Phone
Email Address Fax # (if any)
Mailing Address City State Zip

8. You MUST attach these documents to your Petition:

[] Aletter from your medical doctor stating that you have received or are receiving appropriate care
or treatment in support of your transition. Write “Exhibit A” at the top.

[] Alegible and complete set of your fingerprints on a fingerprint card in a form acceptable to the
Texas Department of Public Safety and Federal Bureau of Investigations. Write “Exhibit B” at the
top.

L] If you were convicted of a felony and it has been at least 2 years since you discharged or
completed probation or parole, attached proof of each conviction. Write “Exhibit C” at the top.

L] If you are required to register as a sex offender, attach proof that you notified the appropriate
local law enforcement authority of your proposed name change. Write “Exhibit D” at the top.

[] If you were convicted of a felony and pardoned, attached proof. Write “Exhibit E” at the top.
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NOTICE: THIS DOCUMENT CONTAINS SENSITIVE DATA.

Print court information exactly as it appears on Petition.

In Re:

Cause No:

In the District Court of

Petitioner  (Print first, middle, and last names)
Travis County, Texas

Final Order to Change the
Sex/Gender Identifier of an Adult

Today the Court heard the Petition to Change the Sex/Gender Identifier of an Adult.

1. Appearances & Jurisdiction
The Petitioner appeared in person without an attorney and announced ready.

The Court finds that it has jurisdiction over this case and the Petitioner.

2. Record

(The court will select one of the following.)
[] Testimony was not recorded, and the Court agreed that it did not need to be recorded.

[] Testimony was recorded by the court reporter.

3. Findings

The Court finds the following information about the Petitioner.

(A) Petitioner’s full name is:

First Middle Last

(B) Home address is:

street address

city county state Zip code

(C) Petitioner’s date of birth is:

month day year

(D) Petitioner’s race is:

(E) Petitioner’s place of birth is:

city county state country

(F) Petitioner’s social security number is:
Or [] Petitioner does not have a Social Security Number.
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(G) All driver’s license numbers issued to Petitioner during the last 10 years are listed below:

Driver’s License Number State that Issued License

Or [] Petitioner has not had a driver’s license during the last 10 years.
(H) Petitioner’s current sex/gender as listed on birth certificate is [ | Male [ | Female

(1) Petitioner: (Check one.)
[ ] does not have FBI number or SID number.

[ ] Petitioner’s FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigations) number is:
Petitioner’s SID (State Identification) number is:

(J) Petitioner has disclosed information required by section 45.102(b)(2), Texas Family Code.

(K) Petitioner: (Check one.)

["1 has not been convicted of a felony.
| has been convicted of a felony and has been pardoned.

| " has been convicted of a felony and at least two years have passed since Petitioner
received a certificate of discharge or completed court ordered community supervision or
probation.

(L) Petitioner: (Check one.)
] is not required to register as a sex offender under chapter 62 of the Code of Criminal
Procedure.

[1 is required to register as a sex offender under chapter 62 of the Code of Criminal
Procedure. Petitioner provided proof to the Court that Petitioner notified the appropriate
local law enforcement authority of this proposed change of sex/gender identifier.

4. Orders

The Court orders Petitioner’s gender and sex identifier be changed:

(Select one) [ ] from Male to Female OR [ | from Female to Male.

This order shall act as the official order for schools, universities, agencies, and departments
within this court’s jurisdiction to correct and amend the gender and sex identifiers on any and all
licenses, certificates, or other official documents under the agency’s control and issuance. This
includes, but is not limited to, the Texas Department of Public Safety.
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[ ] (f Petitioner was born in Texas) The Court orders that upon application to the Vital Statistics Unit
the Petitioner’s Texas birth certificate shall be corrected pursuant to Texas Health
and Safety Code 192.011 to reflect Petitioner’s sex/gender as: [ | Male [ | Female.

[ ] (f Petitioner was born in another state) The Court finds that the Petitioner was born in the state of
. The Court authorizes the appropriate officials in charge of correcting
birth records in the state of to correct the birth record in accordance with
the findings in this order.

The Court further orders that the Petitioner not use this change of sex/gender identification to:
e Avoid any and all past or future financial or credit obligations or liabilities, or
e For the purposes of fraud; or
e To circumvent any laws or ordinances.

Documents within the file shall not be released except upon court order or upon request of the
attorneys of record or the party to the case. The Clerk shall maintain this file as a restricted file.

The Court has the right to make other orders, if needed, to clarify or enforce this order. Any
orders requested that do not appear above are denied.

SIGNED ON: }
Date Signed Judge’s Signature
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What are the steps to change my
sex/gender marker in Travis County, Texas?

These instructions are to change your sex/gender identifier on Texas state records only. If you want to
change your sex/gender identifier AND your name, there are separate instructions and forms for that. Note:
These forms are intended for use in Travis County, Texas.

The Final Order to Change the Sex/Gender Identifier of an Adult is an order a judicial finding of your
sex/gender. It gives notice to agencies and departments within the court’s jurisdiction of the change of
sex/gender identification. It does not take away any legal rights or responsibilities or debts you had under
your original sex identifier. It does not grant any new rights. Changing your identifier will NOT allow you to
escape civil or criminal responsibility of your creditors. You will still be held responsible for any debts you

have under your original identifier.

Step 1. Fill out two forms.

Petition to Change the Sex/Gender Identifier of an
Adult. This form asks the judge to order agencies to
change your sex/gender identifier on official
documents.

- and-
Final Order to Change the Sex /Gender Identifier of
an Adult. The judge signs this form to order the

agencies to change your identifier on official
documents.

Where do | get the forms?
You can print forms from the Law Library’s website at
www.TravisCountyLawLibrary.org.

If you cannot afford to pay a filing fee, you can ask to
waive it by filing a Statement of Inability to Afford
Payment of Court Costs form. This form is also on the
website.

Step 2. Gather the additional paperwork.

You will need a letter from a medical doctor.

The letter should say that:

e The doctor has examined you,

e You have received appropriate
treatment for transitioning, and

e Granting a change of gender/sex marker is in
your best interest.

Alternatively, you can use the same medical

certification letter used to change your passport.

See:

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/passports/

apply-renew-passport/change-of-sex-marker.htmi

clinical

You may also need this paperwork:

e A Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of
Court Costs form (if you want to ask that filing
fees be waived)

o A copy of your certificate of discharge (if you
were convicted of a felony and served time in
prison)

TC-FM-GI1-Info, Adult Gender Marker Change Info Sheet w/FAQs
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e A copy of your discharge from felony probation
(if you successfully completed probation)

e A copy of your Sex Offender Update Form (if
you are required to register as a sex offender)

Step 3. Get your fingerprints taken.
Have your fingerprints taken. You will need the
fingerprint card to file with your Petition.

Where do | get my fingerprints taken?

Check with local law enforcement to learn where you
can have your fingerprints taken. There is a fee,
usually $10 to $20.

In Travis County, you can have your fingerprints taken
at Passport Express at 1107 Rio Grande St., Austin,
Texas 78701.

Do you want your forms reviewed by an
attorney?

e You can hire a private attorney. There are
attorneys in Austin who specialize in
LGBT+ legal matters.

e The Law Library can review your forms,
1700 Guadalupe St., 2" floor

e The University of Texas Law School holds
a legal clinic each semester. The clinic
volunteers will help you fill out the
paperwork.
https://law.utexas.edu/probono/for-the-
public/pro-bono-projects/gap/
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Step 4. File your Petition.

You can file the Petition in the District Clerk’s
Office, 1700 Guadalupe St., 3" floor.

You should also file these attachments with your

Petition:

e The fingerprint card.

e The letter from your medical doctor.

e A Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of
Court Costs form (if you want to ask that filing
fees be waived)

e Exhibit: A copy of your certificate of discharge
(if you were convicted of a felony)

e Exhibit: A copy of your discharge from felony
probation (if you successfully completed
probation)

« Exhibit: A copy of your Sex Offender Update
Form (if you are required to register as a sex
offender).

Note: You can file your Petition online
www.eFileTexas.gov. If you file online:

1. Make sure you scan and upload your
fingerprint card, the diagnosis letter, and the
exhibits (if applicable) with your Petition.

2. Fill out and upload your proposed Final Order
to Change the Sex /Gender Identifier of an
Adult.

3. Include instructions in the ‘Comments’ section
that you would like your paperwork forwarded
to the court for consideration.

4. Bring the original documents with you when
meet with the judge.

Step 5. Pay the Filing Fee.

You will pay a filing fee of about $350 at the District
Clerk’s Office.

If paying the fee will create a financial hardship for
you and your family, you may file a Statement of
Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs form to
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ask the Court to waive court and filing fees.
Step 6. Wait for a Notice from the Court.

Travis County Prioritizes Name and Gender
Identifier cases, but they do take some time to
process. The average time for Name and Gender
Identifier case to be finished is around Four Months.
Once the Judge signs your order, the court will send
you a Notice of Order. These notices are sent
through email or postal mail. If you have reached
the 4-month mark without any contact from the
Court, or if you have concerns about your filing, you
can contact the Travis County Law Library to look
into your case. After four months have passed since
the original or any subsequent amended filings, we
can reach out to the clerk’s office on your behalf.
Law Library: 512-854-8677.

Step 8. Get certified copies of the Order.

Go to the District Clerk’s Office, 1700 Guadalupe
St., 3 floor. The Clerk’s Office stamps the Order
signed by the judge. Ask for a certified copy of the
signed and stamped Order. Pay the fee for the
certified copy. You will need the certified copies to
prove that the Court ordered the identifier change.
You may want to get at least 3 certified copies.

Step 9. Notify.

Notify agencies of your identifier change. You may
be required to show them a certified copy of your
court order. Agencies to notify include the:

Social Security Administration

Vital Statistics (birth certificates)

Department of Public Safety (driver’s license)
Tax Office (vehicle and voter registration)
County Clerk’s Office (property titles)
Passport Office
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Questions: Gender Marker/Sex Identifier Change

[»)

Who can use these forms?

This form is intended for use by people who want to change the sex identifier on their public documents
to match their gender identity. If you want to change your name AND gender marker only, there are
separate forms for that. There are also separate forms if you want to just change your name.

Can | change my gender/sex marker on public documents without going to court?

No. In Texas, you need a court order. Judges have discretion to either grant or deny your request.

Is surgery or other medical treatment or procedure required before | can change my gender/sex
marker?

No, surgery is not required by Texas law. What is required is a narrative statement from your medical
doctor that says:

e The doctor has examined you.

¢ You have received appropriate treatment to transition.

e ltisin your best interest (it is recommended) that your sex and/or gender marker be changed in
public records to be consistent with your identity and presentation.

Alternative: You can use the same medical certification letter used to change your passport. The
template for the letter is on the Department of State’s website. See:
https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/passports/apply-renew-passport/change-of-sex-marker.html

In exercising their discretion to grant sex/gender marker changes, judges often look to the Current
Standards of Care (SOC) established by the World Professional Association for Transgender Health
(WPATH). For more information on these standards see https://www.wpath.org/publications/soc

Can | change my gender/sex marker to non-binary or some other identity that is neither male or
female (M or F)?

No. Texas law does not recognize non-binary, third gender or gender fluid as an acceptable entry for
sex or gender that is printed on state identification documents.

: Will my identity documents automatically be updated once the court enters an order?

No. Getting an order is just the first step of the process of correcting your gender marker on your ID
documents. You will need to contact the issuing authority for each type of ID and present a certified
copy of the court order when you ask for a change. You can get a certified copy of the order signed by
the judge from the District Clerk’s Office, 1700 Guadalupe St., 3" floor.

Although the order is a binding order of a Texas district court of general jurisdiction, it is not an absolute
guarantee that state entities will immediately adjust your gender marker in accordance with the order.
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