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CHAPTER 1

GENERAL
1.1 Objective
These rules are promulgated to provide a uniform system for the fair, impartial, and prompt
disposition of matters properly before the Justice Courts of Travis County. They are to be

interpreted consistent with this objective.

1.2 Scope
These rules govern cases filed in the Justice Courts of Travis County, Texas. They are promulgated

pursuant to Section 27.061 of the Texas Government Code.

1.3 Jurisdiction

The Justice Courts of Travis County hear:

(@ Civil cases in which the amount in controversy is $20,000.00 or less

(b) Eviction cases, both residential and commercial, including writs of re-entry.

(c) Administrative hearings involving revocation of drivers’ licenses, concealed handgun
permits, etc.

(d) Criminal offenses which are fine only, both traffic and Class C.

(e) Cases involving animal cruelty and neglect.

(f) Peace Bonds

(g) All other cases permissible under Texas law, including Section 27.031-27.034 of the Texas

Government Code.

1.4 Organization
Each Justice Court in Travis County has a specific geographical area of jurisdiction. Each court

has its own court clerks responsible for setting cases on the individual docket of the court.

1.5 Calendar
Each Justice Court will keep a docket of scheduled hearings and trials. A weekly docket shall be

available to the public for each week’s proceedings.



The elected judges will generally be available as indicated by these rules and the calendar.
However, when a judge is not available due to vacation, at a judicial or educational conference, or
has medical or dental needs, it is the policy of the Justice Courts to obtain a visiting judge,
whenever possible, so that there will be no interruption in the work of each court. Visiting judges
are also scheduled to help with accumulated business within a precinct. A visiting judge of the
Justice Courts, when sitting, has all the rights and powers of the justice of the peace while serving
in that capacity but may not make personnel decisions about, or significant changes in, the justice
of the peace’s office. A visiting judge shall serve in such courts and at such times as prescribed by

the Presiding Judge of that court.

1.6 Jury Selection

The Justice Courts utilize the electronic method of selecting names of persons assigned for jury
service. Jury impaneling is conducted in cooperation with the District, Municipal, and County
Courts. Questions about the jury impaneling process and jury service may be addressed to the jury
office at (512) 854-9669.

CHAPTER 2
CIVIL CASES

2.1 Filing Cases

All civil cases shall be filed in the Justice Court where one or more

defendants may reside, except as otherwise provided by law. Eviction cases shall be filed in the
Justice Court where the leased premises are located. All other civil cases may be filed according
to any applicable jurisdiction and venue laws. It is the responsibility of the party filing a case to
file in the correct court.

2.2 Mediation
It is the policy of the Travis County Justice Courts to encourage the peaceful resolution of disputes
and the early settlement of pending litigation. Each court shall determine which of its cases to refer

to mediation and shall determine to which mediation service to refer a case.



Any party receiving notice of a referral to mediation has 10 days from date of notice to file a
motion objecting to the referral. If any party to a case files a motion objecting to the referral to
mediation, and the court finds that there is a reasonable basis for the objection, the case may be
excused from the referral. If either party fails to attend mediation or if no resolution is reached, the

case is to be promptly set for trial.

Consistent with Rule 503.6(b) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, the Justice Courts will not
order mediation or any alternative dispute resolution process in an eviction case if it would delay

trial.

2.3 Setting Cases
All civil cases are to be brought to trial or final disposition as promptly as practicable.

At any time the court may order a pre-trial conference. The court may enter an order or orders

following each pre-trial conference, which would address any applicable matters.

Each Justice court shall be responsible for the setting of hearings and trials in each court and for

the notices thereof.

2.4 Demand for Jury

A party requesting a civil jury trial shall file a written request with the court in which the case is
filed no later than 14 days before the date a case is set for trial. If the demand is not timely, the
right to a jury is waived unless the late filing is excused by the judge for good cause. The jury fee
shall be paid or a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Cost shall be filed upon filing
the request. Once the demand is made and the fee paid or a Statement of Inability to Afford
Payment of Court Cost, the request cannot be withdrawn without written approval of both parties.

Jury fees are non-refundable.

A party requesting an eviction jury trial shall file a written request with the court in which the case
is filed at least 3 days before the date a case is set for trial. If the demand is not timely, the right to

a jury is waived. The jury fee shall be paid or the Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of



Court Costs shall be filed upon filing the request. Once the demand is made and the fee paid, the
request cannot be withdrawn without written approval of both parties. Jury fees are non-

refundable.

2.5 Preferential Settings

Preferential settings may be obtained at the discretion of the judge.

2.6 Continuances

Motions for Continuance should be filed not later than Thursday of the week preceding trial and
will be heard at the discretion of the court. The notice and pleading requirements of law must be
followed. Continuances may not be heard thereafter unless they allege grounds which arose only
after that time.

2.7 Uncontested Docket
Uncontested matters and routine matters of very short duration may be heard at the uncontested
docket as scheduled by each court.

The parties are responsible for arranging in advance with the court’s clerk to have the files pulled
and available for the court. If more than two cases will be presented at the uncontested docket,
please inform the clerk of the cause number and style of each case at least 24 hours in advance.

Each Justice Court may establish a procedure of submitting agreed orders to the Court without a

setting.

2.8 Matters Preliminary to Trial on the Merits

Except for motions for continuance based on new circumstances, all motions in limine, exceptions
and all pre-trial motions and pleas in each jury case shall be presented and heard at pre-trial
hearing. All such exceptions, motions, and pleas not presented and heard at scheduled pre-trial

hearings will be deemed waived, except upon a showing of good cause.



For non-jury cases all exceptions, motions and pleas must be filed three days before the scheduled

trial before the court.

A movant shall deliver a copy of each pleading to any opposing party and to the court in the manner

and within the time provided by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.

2.9 Hearings Conducted by Telephone
At the discretion of the judge, a party or attorney may appear by telephone conference call. A
request by a party for such an arrangement must be made in advance. In rare cases in the interest

of justice, the court may permit a witness to appear by telephone conference call.

Each judge will instruct the parties regarding arrangements for conference calls.

At any time, even after the completion of a conference call, a judge may determine that a hearing

by telephone will not be sufficient and may require a hearing in court upon notice to all parties.

2.10 Dismissal for Want of Prosecution by the Court

2.10.1 Case Selection

The following cases are eligible for dismissal for want of prosecution sua sponte by the court:

(@) Cases on file for more than 120 days in which no answer has been filed,;

(b) Cases that have been on file for more than 12 months that are not set for trial and have had
no filings or settings within 180 days;

(c) Any other case designated by the court.

2.10.2 Notice

The court clerk shall give notice that certain cases will be dismissed for want of prosecution. Such
matters will be dismissed on the date indicated in the notice of dismissal unless the court orders it
retained.

2.10.3 Docket Settings

Only the court may make a setting in cases set for dismissal.



2.10.4 Procedures for Retaining Cases and Objecting to Motions to Retain

(@ Motions to retain shall be filed with the court at least 10 working days prior to the date
specified in the notice of dismissal for want of prosecution.

(b) Any party who files a motion to retain shall state in writing the factual and legal basis why
the case should not be dismissed for want of prosecution.

(c) Parties objecting to a motion to retain shall state in writing the basis for any objection to the
motion to retain within 3 days of service of a motion to retain.

(d) The court shall notify all parties of the court’s ruling on a motion to retain.

2.10.5 Cases Not Requiring Oral Argument
Oral arguments on motions to retain or objections to motions to retain, may be permitted by the

court.

2.10.6 Cases Requiring Oral Argument
The court shall notify the parties of the court’s decision to permit oral argument and shall notify

the parties of any hearing on motion to retain.

A party wanting to argue a motion to retain or an objection to retention may appear on the date
and time set for dismissal of the case.

2.10.7 Retained Cases
If the court decides to retain the case, the court will set the case for trial at the convenience of the
court. The court will notify the parties of the next setting.

2.10.8 Includes all Pending Claims
References in this chapter to a “case” include all pending claims in the

case.

2.11 Drafts of Judgments and Orders



So far as practicable, every draft of a judgment or order to be signed by a judge should be approved

as to form by attorneys for all parties before it is presented to the judge.

A draft of an order shall not be typed on the same page with a pleading, motion, certificate of
service, or any part thereof, and each such draft shall have a heading showing the cause number,

the style of the case, and the court in which it is pending.

The word "entered" should not be used in the line provided immediately above the judge’s

signature to show the date on which a judgment or order is signed.

2.12 Motions to Withdraw as Attorney

Except as provided in Rules 8 and 10, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, a motion to withdraw will
be granted without a hearing only if the moving attorney:

(@) Files written consents to the withdrawal signed by attorneys for all parties; and

(b) Files a written consent to the withdrawal signed by the client, or includes in the motion a
specific statement of the circumstances that justify the withdrawal and the circumstances that
prevent the moving attorney from obtaining the client's written consent; and

(c) Files a certificate stating the last known mailing address of the client.

If all requirements above are not satisfied, a motion to withdraw or to substitute another attorney

must be presented at a hearing after notice to the client and to all other parties.

2.13 Holidays
When any date mentioned in these rules falls on a court holiday then the applicable date shall be

the first date following the holiday.

The court holidays shall be published.

2.14 Authorization to Serve Citation

Authorization to serve citation is governed by Rule 501.2 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure

and any other applicable rules and laws.



CHAPTER 3
CRIMINAL CASES

3.1 Filing Cases
Justice Court cases shall be filed in accord with Article 4.12 of the Texas Code of Criminal

Procedure.

Offenses alleged to have been committed in more than one precinct may be filed in any precinct

that the offense, or any portion of the offense, is alleged to have occurred.

3.2 First Appearance

Unless otherwise directed, defendants will appear at the Justice Court in

which the case is filed, according to the date and location written on their citation or summons.

Subsequent appearances will be as scheduled by the court.

Request for language interpreter or special assistance for persons with disabilities shall be made at

the time a plea is entered.

A telephone call does not constitute an appearance.

3.3 Setting Cases

All criminal cases are to be brought to trial or final disposition as promptly as practicable.

Each Justice court shall be responsible for the setting of dockets, hearings, and trials in each court

and for the notices thereof.

Announcement Docket/Pretrial Docket: Defendants may discuss their cases with a prosecutor,

plead guilty or no contest to resolve the case, or reset the case for trial.



Pretrial Hearing on Written Motions: Pretrials on written motions are normally conducted in Class
C cases on the day of trial. Special pretrial settings on written motions must be requested and
approved by the court. Pretrial motions must be filed and served on the County Attorney 21 days

prior to any such hearing.

All pretrial hearings will be held on the day set unless a written State or Defense motion for

continuance is granted.

Trial before the Court (TBC): Attorneys and defendants should not waive jury unless they intend
the case to be tried on the TBC docket. All cases shall be tried when set unless a written State or

Defense motion for continuance is granted.

Jury Trial: Defense attorney and/or defendant shall appear at the scheduled jury setting. State and
Defense must either announce ready or file a written motion for continuance. If the defendant
waives jury at the docket call, a written waiver, signed by counsel and/or defendant must be

presented.

3.4 Plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere

If not represented by an attorney, a defendant (or if represented by an attorney, the defendant’s
attorney) may enter a plea of guilty or no contest at any time, with or without a plea agreement. If
not represented by an attorney, a defendant (or if represented by an attorney, the defendant’s
attorney) may also elect to enter a plea of guilty or no contest and address the judge regarding

punishment.
3.5 Appointment of Counsel
Indigent defendants are not entitled to a court appointed attorney, as a matter of law, when charged

with a fine-only offense.

3.6 Motions to Withdraw or Substitute
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An attorney becomes attorney of record in a misdemeanor case by listing his or her name on
pleadings or by setting or resetting the case. He or she remains attorney of record until relieved by

written order of the court.

An attorney's motion to withdraw will be heard at any time when the defendant has had notice to
appear or whenever the defendant agrees in writing. Adequate notice is by certified mail, return

receipt requested.

Motions to substitute counsel will be granted without hearing so long as the scheduling of trial will

not be delayed by the change in counsel.

CHAPTER 4
RULES OF DECORUM

4.1 Opening Procedure
Immediately before the scheduled time for the first court session on each day the bailiff shall direct
all persons present to their seats and shall cause the courtroom to come to order. As the judge

enters the courtroom the bailiff or the court clerk shall state: "All rise."

And while everyone is still standing, the bailiff may briefly introduce the judge presiding. After
the judge sits, the bailiff shall state: “Please be seated.”

4.2 Recess
When the judge announces a recess, the bailiff shall state: “All rise.” And all shall remain standing
until the judge leaves the courtroom, whereupon the bailiff shall announce: "The court is now in

recess”.

In reconvening after a recess, the bailiff shall call the courtroom to order and request everyone
to rise as the judge enters and shall state: "Please be seated."

Before a recess of a jury trial, the jury will be excused, and all other persons present shall remain

seated while the bailiff conducts the jury from the courtroom into the jury room.
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After a recess, the bailiff shall direct all jurors to the jury room and shall call the courtroom to
order and request everyone to rise as the judge enters, as in non-jury trials. The jury shall be

returned to the jury box from the jury room, upon the instruction of the judge.

4.3 General Rules of Courtroom Conduct

All officers of the court, except the judge and jurors, and all other participants, except witnesses
who have been placed under the rule, shall promptly enter the courtroom before the scheduled time
for each court session. When the bailiff calls the court to order, complete order should be observed.

In the courtrooms there shall be:

(a) no tobacco or tobacco substitute in any form, including electronic cigarettes and vaping
devices used;

(b) no chewing gum;

(c) no excessively short pant, short skirts, or bare midriffs;

(d) no reading of newspapers;

(e) no audible cell phones or pagers;

(f) no bottles, cups or beverage containers except court water, pitchers and cups or as
otherwise permitted by the judge;

(g) no edibles;

(h) no propping of feet on tables or chairs;

(1) no noise or talking that interferes with court proceedings.

No tape recorders, cameras, or other electronic devices for recording proceedings without prior

written approval by the court
The judge, the attorneys, and other officers of the court will refer to and address other court
officers and other participants in the proceedings respectfully and impersonally, as by using

appropriate titles and surnames rather than first names.

All officers of the court should dress appropriately for court sessions.

12



4.4 Attorneys
Attorneys should observe the letter and spirit of all canons of ethics, including those dealing
with discussion of cases with representatives of the media and those concerning improper ex

parte communications with the judge.

Attorneys should advise their clients and witnesses of Local Rules of Decorum that may

be applicable.

All objections, arguments, and other comments by counsel shall be directed to the judge or jury

and not to opposing counsel.

While another attorney is addressing the judge or jury, an attorney should not stand for any purpose

except to make an appropriate motion, request or objection to the court.

Attorneys should not approach the bench without leave of court and must never lean on the bench.

Attorneys shall remain seated at the counsel tables at all times except:

(@) when the judge enters and leaves;

(b) when addressing the judge or jury; and

(c) whenever it may be proper to handle documents, exhibits, or other evidence (leave of court

is not required.)

Attorneys should anticipate any need to move furniture, appliances, or easels, and should make
advance arrangements with the court. Tables should not be moved during court sessions, unless

approved the court.

4.5 Broadcast Media
Requests to broadcast court proceedings shall be determined by each judge on a case by case

assessment after consultation with all the parties to a case.

4.6 Open Courtrooms
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The public doors to the courtroom shall remain unlocked during court sessions. All persons shall
be permitted to enter the courtroom and observe any public proceeding during court sessions unless

their exclusion is authorized by law

Chapter 5
Transfer of Cases

5.1. Civil Cases

(@) Atthe judge’s discretion, a Justice of the Peace court in one precinct may transfer a pending
civil case to another Justice of the Peace court in Travis County, provided that the receiving judge
has no objection to the transfer.

(b) The parties lack standing to contest or request the transfer.

(c) Once transferred, the case proceeds as if it arose originally in the court to which it was

transferred.

5.2. Criminal Cases

(a) A judge may transfer a pending misdemeanor case to another Justice of the Peace court in
Travis County, provided that the receiving judge has no objection to the transfer.

(b) The defendant has 10 days to object in writing to the transfer.

(c) Once transferred, the case proceeds as if it arose originally in the court to which it was
transferred.

5.3 School Attendance Cases

A Justice Court may transfer a school attendance case to Gardner-Betts Juvenile Court whenever
a defendant also has pending juvenile cases at Gardner-Betts. The transfer of other cases between
Justice Courts shall be done in accord with Section 5.2 of these Justice Court Rules.

5.4 Bench Exchange Agreement
Pursuant to Texas Government Code Sec. 27.054, the Justices of the Peace in Travis County hereby
agree to exchange benches as a standing order, to exchange whenever convenient. This order shall

automatically renew every five days until rescinded.
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